I know I said i’d do the trendy boys list  but it turns out that a) there isn’t as much boy data as i’d like b) the names were all quite similar and c) most of the names stretched through the generations. anywho.

I really love names with a poem to go along with them. There aren’t very many though. Here are some of my favourites.

Annabel– quite obvious, I suppose, that this comes from Annabel Lee by Edgar Allan Poe. Definitely one of my favourite poems ever. “And this maiden she lived with no other thought than to love and be loved by me.” I love that.

Althea- my sister almost chose this name and might go back to it, who knows. It’s gorgeous though. The poem “To Althea, From Prison” was written by Richard Lovelace, and is a poem written to his beloved Althea from prison. It’s about how you can imprison the person but not their mind. Luvz.

Evangeline- I just love this name. It’s so romantic. The poem Evangeline, A Tale of Acadie was written by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. It’s about Evangeline searching for her love Gabriel.

Fawnia-by Robert Greene is a dedication to the beautiful woman.

Rosaline-I LOVE this name. You don’t even know. It’s GORGEOUSSS. The poem Rosaline was written by James Russell Lowell, and yes, is about a beautiful girl named Rosaline.

Eulalie– by Edgar Allan Poe is a wonderful poem by one of the greatest poets ever. It’s kind of a sad poem. Eulalie is a great name, another contender for my sister.

Layla– Layla probably isn’t my FAVOURITE name in the world, but it does have a lot of meaning. I had a great-grandmother named Leila who was Persian and her daughter, my grandmother, always read my sister and cousins and I the story of Layla and Majnun, an Arabic poem.

Aurore- coming from Victor Hugo’s Les Contemplations livre 1. God I love that man, and pretty  much all of the works of Les Contemplations..

